Simple elastic waistband skirts

One of my favourite places is abakhan fabrics. It’s super local to me has a massive selection and is cheap especially downstairs in the remnants section where everything is sold by the kilo!

I made two fully lined simple elastic waistband skirts and the whole affair (elastic, thread the lot, except the floral lining material which came from my stash and was originally from my grandma’s stash!) cost me just over £10 which I think is a good deal. I even include my receipt as cast iron proof!!!

image

Details, as far as I can. I am no great sewer and lots of things just happened out ok on this project so these are more guidelines than a definitive tutorial (search elastic waistband skirt diy and lots of people have great tutorials out there.)

image

1. Measure waist measurement, double it and take off 6″. Measure from your waist to wherever you want the skirt to end and then cut 2 rectangles to these dimensions with the lining being 1/2″ shorter than the outer fabric (+1/2″ seam allowances if you wish, I never bother).
2. Hem these two pieces together allong the top (long) edge with right sides out. I did it with a straight stitch then a close zig zag (because I have no overlocker.)
3. French seam the short edges together to create a large tube. Iron the seam.
4. Hem the bottom by folding the outer fabric up 1/4″ then over the lining ironing, pinning and stitching so that the two layers are attached together with neat hems inside and out.
5. Cut elastic (I used 1″ loom elastic) to 2″ shorter than your waist measurement and turn over the top edge and sew a channel wide enough to accommodate the elastic remembering to leave a gap to thread it though.
6. Iron the whole garment.
7. Thread the elastic keeping it flat all the way thought. Zigzag the ends together and distribute the gathers around the waistband.
8. Try the skirt on your victim of choice and make sure the elastic waistband is ok before you sew up the remaining hole.

image

I dont normally line things, I’m lazy y’know. But I intend these as summer skirts and the cotton is lightweight and therefore a little transparent without lining. So if you’re going to have to use lining (above) then why not make it cute right? I think this cotton is from around 1960 (hoarding runs in the family don’tcha know!) so I’m glad I finally put it to some kind if use!

image

It was more effort to type those (bad) instructions than to make the skit! They are fun fast and super comfy so as Nike would say, just do it!

Leave a Reply

